Skip to content

Now pinch hitting

29June2011

Our bloggers are a team of clergy.  Six of us so far and hoping to grow as we go forward.  From time to time a pastors life gets thrown a curve ball.  Our Wednesday blogger called me Tuesday evening  at 830 asking for prayers for a family in her congregation as they had experienced a tragic death.  She also asked me to pinch hit for her blog post for today, so I must apologize that you get to read me twice in one week, I promise most weeks you will only suffer through each of us once.

Now onto today’s post

What’s popular isn’t always faithful

Like many of us I am a channel flipper.  I like to control the remote on my television.  I want control of the channel on the radio.  Over the weekend I was flipping channels and I stopped at a popular “Christian” broadcaster.  I see her television show, I see her books, I hear people rave about her, I see her quotes forwarded or tweeted over and over.  There is only one problem, what she is proclaiming is not Biblical, Christian or Orthodox.

Did you guess where my channel surfing found the rocks? Joyce Meyer Ministries.  What I heard was nothing that resembled anything I had ever read in the Hebrew or Christian Scriptures.  What I heard was beyond offensive, it was blasphemous.  Her popularity is even more offensive.  Joyce is a Word/Faith teacher which teaches that God wants Christians to be prosperous, successful, popular.  

She preaches that God wants us to be wealthy, that the cross wasn’t enough, and that we can be sinless.  Her speech on this day (It sure as hell wasn’t a sermon) stated, ” I’m going to tell you something folks, I didn’t stop sinning until I finally got it through my thick head I wasn’t a sinner anymore. And the religious world thinks that’s heresy and they want to hang you for it. But the Bible says that I’m righteous and I can’t be righteous and be a sinner at the same time.

Now whether you like it or not, whether you want to admit it or not, whether you want to operate on it or not, you are made the righteousness of God in Jesus Christ.  Most people who go to denominational churches never ever hear that!  They never hear it!  Never!  All I was ever taught to say was, ‘I’m a poor, miserable sinner.’ I am not poor, I am not miserable and I am not a sinner. That is a lie from the pit of hell. That is what I was and if I still am then Jesus died in vain. Amen?”

Folks, what she is teaching is pure heresy, and people are listening and following.  Parishoners, friends, even family members are buying her books, going to her lectures, and following her teaching.  A teaching that leads them away from the cross of Christ, a teaching that leads them away from the crucified and risen Lord.

I may never have thousands line up for my sermon.  I may never sell one book.  I may never make $95 million dollars in a year.  That’s okay, for in the words of St. Paul, may I forget everything other than Jesus Christ and him crucified. I also can no longer be silent when I receive email forwards of this heresy or hear people lifting these teachings up as “meet, right, and salutary”.   I look at those who have stood in the space against wrong teaching to pass the tradition onto us.  People like St. Stephen,  St. Paul, Johann Hus, Luther, Melancthon, Bonhoeffer and where the church would be had they remained silent.

The next time you hear the praises of Joyce Meyer or Joel Osteen or others being sang remember that “All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good (people) to do nothing” ~Edmund Burke

Blessings

David Brobston

PS.  Joyce Meyer was born and raised a Lutheran.

image courtesy of  “Time Magazine” September 10, 2006

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 29June2011 11:27

    Oh slam, she was born and raised a Lutheran! Wow!! Thanks for the word today!
    Amy L.

  2. Shirley K. permalink
    29June2011 18:18

    I visit a 95 yr old Lutheran lady and she thinks Joyce Meyer and Joel Osteen are the greatest. Should I burst her bubble? Many people are fooled by them.

  3. Ronald A Orovitz permalink
    1July2011 21:58

    Careful….. Joel Osteen, Keith Moore and others are into health/wealth gospel, but I don’t think Joyce Meyer fits in that catagory. She does not preach that “God wants us to be wealthy.” The thought behind the quote you share from her “speech” does not appear in any of her published works. My wife likes her, and I have listened to a number of presentations on CDs while traveling. I do not find her as offensive as you paint her. She sounds like a woman truck driver with her raspy voice. But, she is down to earth and as Dr. Phil would say “real” in what she presents. The quote you pulled sounds bad, and it raised my eyebrows too. Was it lifted from out of context, slicing it off from the whole story, and all that she said? It should be noted that she lifts up the Cross of Christ and does not lead people away from the crucified and risen Lord. She takes the cross of Christ seriously. That is why I say careful…..

  4. 2July2011 03:16

    I do have to take exception to the idea that Ms. Meyer is not a Word/Faith name it and claim it speaker. I do not believe the quote to be pulled out of context and it is but one of many issues I believe to be blatantly against the teaching of Holy Scripture:

    Just a few that I have stumbled across over the years:
    “The Lord recently showed me that we can bless or curse the financial seed we sow. We can speak positively about our financial future, or we can say things like, ‘I can’t afford it’ . . . ‘Every time I turn around something happens to take my money’. . . . We should water our giving with the water of His word and expect an abundant harvest. Sow your seed and speak prosperity scriptures over your finances. (Joyce Meyer, “Your Mouth is a Weapon,” Life in the Word March 1997, p. 4.)

    She also does speak of the crucified and risen Lord – but much like Lutherans and Catholics talking about justification – the words may be the same but the meaning is different. For Ms. Myers, the cross was not sufficient for atonement. She claims regularly that Christ paid for our sins in hell – and not on the cross. ““There is no hope of anyone going to heaven unless they believe this truth I am presenting. You cannot go to heaven unless you believe with all your heart that Jesus took your place in hell” Joyce Meyer (“The Most Important Decision You Will Ever Make”, 1991 pg. 3)

    Then when pushed she replies, “The Bible can’t even find any way to explain this. Not really. That’s why you’ve got to get it by revelation. There are no words to explain what I’m telling you. I’ve got to just trust God that He’s putting it into your spirit like He put it into mine.”
    Joyce Meyer (What Happened from the Cross to The Throne? audio)

    From her own website: Does Joyce Meyer Ministries teach a “prosperity gospel”?
    Joyce Meyer Ministries believes that God desires to bless His people. Joyce teaches that God’s blessings and prosperity apply to the spiritual, emotional, physical and financial areas of life. These blessings and prosperity are then to be used to bless others (see Genesis 12:2). A “prosperity gospel” that solely equates blessing with financial gain is out of balance and could damage a person’s walk with God.

    DB – CCD

  5. 2July2011 03:21

    Oh, and the quote listed in the main post comes from (Joyce Meyer, “What Happened from the Cross to The Throne?” audio)

  6. Ronald A Orovitz permalink
    2July2011 10:38

    Thanks for the response and the references. The references will help me clarify the issues. I am still reluctant to put her in the “name it and claim it” or prospertity catagory. I think my reservation comes from the feeling that Joyce does not blatantly talk about these things in the material sense like Rev. Ike (that name goes back many years to the ’70s and ’80s because I am at a loss to cite the best contemporary example). Joyce talks about these topics in the spiritual sense of Ephesians 3:8 where Paul writes…”that I should preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ.” Although not Lutheran any more she tends to follow the Sola tradition talking about Faith alone, Word alone, Grace alone in much of what I have listened to.

  7. 3July2011 00:36

    While Joyce Meyer may not be as blatant a proponent of ‘name it and claim it’ theology as some others among our cultural religious icons, her insistence on denying the all-sufficiency of Jesus Christ and of a personal revelation that contradicts scripture clearly put her in the camp of unorthodox if not outright heretical.

    She is quite earthily ‘real’, engaging and charismatic and her message is much what we want to hear; that God’s desire for us is blessings in the tangible and earthly temporal sense. That makes her extrememly popular and believable. Yet Jesus himself will say otherwise when he describes the challenges and path of discipleship to him.

    There is always a kernal of truth in every heretical statement. Joyce Meyer does that extremely well. (Must be her Lutheran upbring that provides the kernal of solid orthodox theology.)

    KMS @ CCD

  8. Ronald A Orovitz permalink
    3July2011 12:50

    One more reflection on DB’s comment above. I noted that several of the references cited are dated 1991 and 1997. In current comments at her presentations she is saying that her viewpoints have changed. She is not theologically today where she was 15-20 years ago. Maybe that is why I was taking exception to some of the comments. The opening post made reference to the $95 Million that she annually receives for her ministries, as if that implied that that went into her pocket. Much of it is used to engage in caring ministries, that mainline churches like the ELCA will not touch because of their preoccupation with the Social-Justice Gospel and advocacy efforts that never touch the down-to-earth help people need to effect change in their individual lives. The ELCA skims off more than 20% of contributions to the ELCA World Hunger Appeal for what is said to be related efforts in advocacy and funding social studies to effect the alleviation of World Hunger. (Who knows how much of that was used to fund the creation of the Social Statement “Human Sexuality – Gift and Trust).

    I don’t particulary like Joyce Meyer either, but I am bound by the eighth commandment to explain her actions in the kindest possible way.

Leave a Reply

