Skip to content

Blessings for Jesus

3November2011

I love Jesus.

I love to read about Him.

I love to talk to Him in prayer.

I love to sing to Him.

I love Jesus.

 

But I hate talking to others about Him.

Now, that statement is way over the top.  I love to preach and I love bible study with others—I love to talk to others about Jesus.  But I don’t like evangelism.  I don’t like the idea of going door to door to ask people if they know Jesus as their Lord and savior.  I don’t want to bring Him up at the check out line in the grocery store.  I remember going into a fellow student’s dorm room while in college to try and “evangelize” him to Jesus.  Wow was I uncomfortable.  I’m not a fan of evangelism—at least as many within the faithful have defined it.  And, judging by the lack of eye contact I get whenever the “E” word comes up, I’m guessing I’m not the only one who isn’t comfortable.

But, at the same time, evangelism is at the heart of who we are as God’s people.  We are a sent people—a people in movement for the sake of the Gospel and so that all might know Jesus.  Furthermore, as a pastor, I certainly consider a large part of my role to be an evangelist.  I am supposed to be about spreading the Good News!  What’s a guy to do?

Well, I think we have missed it.  We have missed the essence and purpose of our evangelistic role.  Genesis 12 begins with the formation of the covenantal relationship between God and Abram.  It all starts here!  God says to Abram in verse 2, “I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you, and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing.”  God called out Abram not just so he and his offspring could bask in the glory of God’s favor.  This is a missional covenant and the calling is simple.  Be A Blessing!  That’s it.  Be a blessing!

I love the church.  I love The Church.  I love the congregation I serve.  But the problem is we’ve made it all about church.  We’ve made it about the decedents of Abraham.  What if we shifted back to our intended purpose?  What if our focus was instead on blessing others?  Can we instill in our people and ourselves a vocation and calling that you are the deployed staff of the Kingdom of God?  You are called to be a blessing to someone today.

What would happen if your church adopted the closest school building?  Make it your mission that every teacher in the school is prayed for, by name, and receives a note every once in a while to check in and see if there is anything specific for which they need prayer.  Can you gather some fellow servants who are willing to offer some special tutoring for students who need help with reading?  Statistics show that a child that leaves elementary school without being able to read at a 4th grade level will have a significantly lower quality of life and is more likely to end up in prison.  In Miami, FL the need for prison beds for the future is calculated by the reading ability of 4th graders.  Think about the significance of that reality.  How can we, with a church full of readers, possibly let this happen?  Will you be a blessing to your community and to your students?

After all, Jesus did call us to love our neighbor.  Love them by blessing them!  And then, as people are blessed, be on the look out for opportunities to express that your act of blessing is a result of your being blessed by Jesus.  This is evangelism!

Want more ideas or to read more about how and why to be a blessing?  Read Missional Renaissance: Changing the Scorecard for the Church by Reggie McNeal.

SMN @CCD

One Comment leave one →
  1. JRB permalink
    3November2011 15:47

    I am convinced evangelism is not “either/or ” but both. The early church disciples boldly proclaimed the gospel where evr they when as Jesus commanded in the great commission, but they also modeled their life after Jesus who “went about doing good”. Balance.

Leave a Reply

