Skip to content

Who Loves You, Baby?

22November2011

As a pastor, sometimes I will have a person wander into my office who is feeling down, lonely, lost and unloveable.  I invite them to sit down with me, knee to knee, heart to heart, soul to soul and tell me all about it.  It is then that the Holy Spirit kicks in, it never fails, and my eyes change from visually impaired needing contact lenses of -3.5 prescription to eyes that see what God sees.  A wave of love sweeps over me that is meant for the other and I know it’s the Holy Spirit because I am totally incapable of that depth of love.  I know it, God knows it, if you know me then you know it’s true.  God takes over in that interaction, pouring out grace and love upon the one sitting before me in all of my ineptness, and the words pour out, “You are precious.”  That’s God talking.

I think that we all have times when we feel unloved and unlovable.  Our confidence wanes, our insecurities rise up within us, life beats us down and gets the best of us.  But from God’s perspective, the idea that we are unloveable is simply not true!  Jeremiah 3 reminds us of this incredible gift from the Lover of all lovers:

 2-6This is the way God put it:

“They found grace out in the desert, 

   these people who survived the killing.
Israel, out looking for a place to rest, 
   met God out looking for them!”
God told them, “I’ve never quit loving you and never will. 
   Expect love, love, and more love! (The Message)

These are not just words we say to each other to remind one another of God’s tender love for us. . . they are a promise!  A promise borne and laid in an animal’s feed box.  A promise fulfilled on the cross of Calvary.  A promise revealed by an empty tomb!  A promise proclaimed on the long walk to Emmaus.  It’s our job to constantly and consistently remind the world of God’s never ending, never failing love for humanity.  No matter what.  

Who Loves You, Baby?

I found this picture (cutebreak.com) and all I could think of was, “This is the way that God loves us!”  He holds us, snuggles us up to his chest, and soothes us when we hurt.  His love is the greatest gift we have in life and we are called to pass it on to others, to remind one another that we are indeed loved.  When we think we cannot accomplish this task the Holy Spirit steps in and provides whatever is missing in us so that the other will know that they are loved and adored.  As we near Thanksgiving this year, let us give thanks for God’s everlasting love and mercy.

Enjoy your families!

Enjoy the gifts on your table!

Give thanks for good friends, shelter, children, community, church and pass on the love you’ve been showered with each day!

Blessings!

ACL@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

