Skip to content

Being Able to “See”

18April2012

My eye doctor is more than an eye doctor to me. . . he is a friend.  He has been my optometrist since I was 8 years old!  He is also a faithful Christian who is as interested in my eyesight as he is in my walk with Christ.  Every time I visit him he tells me stories of his many medical missions, mostly to Haiti and the Carribean Islands.  He was actually in Port-au-Prince when the big earthquake hit Haiti a couple of years ago.  One time Dr. W told me about a man who was about my age whose eyesight was very poor, about 20/200.  For him all of life was a blur.  At the very moment when Dr. W fitted him with a pair of glasses the man began to leap into the air, jumping around the room with such glee, shouting, “Look at that!  Look at that!”  Tears ran down the man’s face because he could see things he never knew existed even though they were right there in front of him all along!

Last week I took my son and daughter to our friend the eye doctor for our yearly exam.  My son, who is now a freshman in high school, and becoming increasingly aware of his looks, decided that he wanted to replace his wire-framed glasses with contact lenses.  My daughter was diagnosed with a slight myopia and now needs a pair of glasses for the classroom.  One wants to ditch his glasses and the other is excited to be receiving a pair of specs.  Go figure!  Seeing is so incredibly important!  We are so blessed to have the care for our eyes that we have, unlike that man in Haiti who had to wait half of his life to be able to see anything more than fuzzy looking loved ones!  But “seeing” is not always something that is foremost in our awareness.

John talks a lot about seeing in his gospel.  Seeing is believing.  Blessed are those who haven’t seen but who still have come to believe.  The “disciple whom Jesus loved” saw the empty tomb and the grave clothes and he believed. Mary Magdalene had the great fortune to see the risen Christ and we know that certainly she believed.  Thomas believed once he was able to see the wounds of Jesus and to touch and feel him in person.  Seeing a vital part of this discipleship journey indeed.

So this prompts a few questions for you to ponder this morning. I encourage you to respond from your own experience so that we can dialogue about this journey with we share. Pehaps we can learn something from one another!

How do we know what we are seeing is “of God?”

How do we know what God is leading us to do in our faith communities?

How do we see what God has in mind for us based upon our particular skills, gifts, resources and passions?

Perhaps asking the question is the first step. . . we certainly cannot see what God wants for us and for the world if our eyes are not open, if we are in need of some God-lenses to help us see.  It’s like going to the optometrist and having that crucial eye exam and having the Doctor say, “You know. . . you just aren’t seeing 20/20. . . not even close.” But maybe we don’t know we aren’t seeing because we have no experience with being able to see!  Perhaps we thought it was supposed to look fuzzy, out of focus, diffuse and just a bunch of random blocks of color all around.  Instead, when the glasses are fitted we see that things are clear, vibrant, detailed and beautiful and then we KNOW that that’s the way it was supposed to look all along!

I’m with that guy who said to the disciples, “Sir, we want to see Jesus!”  I want to see Jesus. I want to know Jesus.  I want to follow Jesus!  And if I need a new set of glasses, contact lenses or even new eyes. . . well then I hope God will provide for me so that I can truly  see.

acl@CCD

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan H. permalink
    18April2012 17:59

    I am excited to read what folks may post in response to your questions bc I wasn’t sure I had very solid answers. We would know if the “thing” is of God if it’s in line with His Holy Word. Experience has shown that an idea that I would have never thought of on my own and stretches my comfort zone is likely from God as well. Moments of unexplained compassion are always of God.

Leave a Reply

