Skip to content

Hungry for Christ

8May2012

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. (John 6:35)

I have been a Sting/Police fan since I was in about the 6th grade. One of my High School classmates recently reminded me of how she would grab my walkman (remember those relics?) from me while she sat on the bench at basketball games and I was playing. . . the music on the cassette (Oh man am I getting old) was, yes you guessed it, The Police.

Well, The Police had this one song which may or may not be appropriate for younger audiences,  J’aurais Toujours Faim de Toi (I’m hungry for you) which I always loved- mostly because Sting sang it in French and I thought that was so cool because at the time I was learning to speak French too.  Now I have grown and  have an iPod, in fact this is my second one and on it is, you guessed it, the same songs by The Police that I listened to when I was a kid.

Now when I have my ear buds in my ears and am running down the bike trail and hear I’m Hungry for You . . . I think about Jesus.  I think about that deep hunger, inside of me and inside all of us who have come to articulate it, for the One who loves us most. . . Jesus the Christ.

As human beings we tend to get hungry.  Even when we aren’t hungry we tend to seek to satisfy even the tiniest pangs for security, stability, company, safety and love. However, we often seek to satisfy those desires with things and people who are not life-giving, with things and people that only lead us closer to death.  There is only One who can satisfy all of our needs, only one bread of life who can fill us up with what gives life and love and security- even in the face of insecurity and death.  This BREAD (in Greek the word “artos”) of Life is Jesus who gives us the only bread that can satiate our deepest hunger.  No other artos in the history of God’s people could– not manna in the wilderness that rotted overnight, not even bread given from a boy’s lunch and multiplied could satisfy for more than a few hours.  The BREAD of Life wants to fill us up, to banish all hunger including spiritual hunger. . . the question is do we recognize our hunger pangs?

I’ve come to think that the depth of our spiritual journey gets really serious when we come to recognize our deep hunger for more and more of Christ.  We can recognize that hunger in ourselves and others when we see and hear that a person’s very existence becomes centered on knowing Jesus in ever deeper ways– through study, prayer, worship, fellowship with the saints, service and so forth.  It is a qualitative difference– the difference between being a “member” of a church (or even simply a C and E kind of Christian) and a “disciple” or “follower” of The Good Shepherd.  A disciple is only interested in living and serving for the Lord of his/her life. . . all other agendas fade into the insignificant background of one’s existence.  All of life becomes a “mission” for the One who loves us most, the One we are hungry for, the ONE who feeds us and sustains in this life.

Jesus said, “I am the artos of life. . . whoever comes to me will never be hungry. . .”  Never.  Fill us up, Lord.  Feed us with what we really need which is YOU.  Amen.

ACL@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

