Skip to content

God’s Word is ALIVE!

26July2012

Image

“The Word of God is living and active. Sharper than and two-edged sword, piercing until it divides soul from spirit, joints from marrow; it is able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

 Have you ever……been pierced through the heart by the Word of God? A friend of mine calls it being filleted. When the Word reaches in and grabs hold, and speaks clearly and surely to the moment as if God himself were speaking – well duh!

 July 11, 1992 – “Take delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4 In a  packed to overflowing church, where 3 congregations stood to witness the union of two of their 30-something pastor/staff. A former nun and a wet behind the ears pastor –  both in love with the Lord and with each other – who would have thought……HA! What a wonderful sense of humor God has. 

 About 7 years later, our firstborn lay on a hospital gurney saying through gritted teeth the words of Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  She recalled that memory verse that she had recently learned at Vacation Bible School and allowed those words to fill her heart and mind when she needed them most.

 And just a few weeks ago, our 11 year old, asked the question, “Mom, when will I find my own Scripture verse?” I gently explained to her that she would know it when she needed it most. Not a week later as we were in her room for nighttime devotions, it did indeed come to her. Psalm 139: 14 is now “hers”  “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”  Her struggle with her identity and being adopted somehow et this verse pierce her heart and the Lord spoke to her in beautiful ways that night.

 Now I know there are Bible scholars out there who will say that the Word was written for a specific purpose other than what I am proposing here. But I have witnessed time and again, how a Psalm here, a prophet there, yes, maybe removed from context, can and does speak clearly to the heart. I’d be curious to know – What is your verse? And how did you come by it? Feel free to share…..

 PAM@CCD

 
3 Comments leave one →
  1. 26July2012 17:58

    Romans 8:28-29. So often veerse 28 aslone is quoted and it can be very frustrating to hear. But the day I asked “what is God’s purpose?” and found my answer in the very next verse was the day that this became my life verse. Knowing that God works everything in my life–pleasant and unpleasant alike–to conform me to the likeness of Jesus brings me increased joy in the good times and gives me strength to get through the hard times.

  2. Joanne Mekis permalink
    26July2012 18:53

    Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Because of your amazing daughter Bekah, this too became my verse. I held onto it tighter than ever 6 years ago when i was so sick that I almost died and frequently thought of Bekah and all that she endured while I prayed it. Thank you Patti for what you do and being a great mom to two wonderful young people. I love Hannah’s too!

  3. Ron Orovitz permalink
    31July2012 21:22

    Romans 8:28; selected for my by my pastor as my confirmation verse on 5/5/55 (when I was 12 years old). Years later after I was ordained (1972) I became more conscious of 8:29 and 30 in my life, and I can’t tell you how many funerals in 40 years of ministry I have used 8:35-39 as a reading.

Leave a Reply

