Skip to content

The Beginning of a New Day

21September2012

Before my wife went to college her parents gave her a little plaque. It has a poem/prayer on it.

She looked at it every morning before class, as I reminder from her parents and as a devotion to start her day.  After we got married we hung this little plaque on a wall, sometimes in a hallway, sometimes next to the sink in the bathroom, any place where we would see it as we began our day.  When we moved to New Canaan, the plaque got misplaced. We probably still have it in a box somewhere in the basement, but without thinking of it – we both kind of missed it.

Recently my wife got a little bookmark with the same poem/prayer on it. Now, when we read devotions with the kids in the morning at breakfast (we are reading through the Psalms),              we either begin or end with this poem/prayer. Now the kids even read it every morning too.

I have no idea who wrote it. It is simple. Yet its message has a profound sense of urgency, purpose, gratitude, faith and even a calming peace within it.  I share it with you now. May it be a companion to you, as it has been to us as you go about your days loving God and serving others:

Sunrise over New York City
image source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_pictures/4964964.stm

This is the beginning of a new day.

God has given me this day to use as I will.

I can waste it or grow in its light

and be of service to others.

But what I do with this day is important

because I have exchanged a day of my life for it.

When tomorrow comes,

today will be gone forever.

I hope I will not regret the price I paid for it. 

_____

GTS@CCD

__________

“This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

