Skip to content

Windex

26September2012

Last week I put new windshield wipers on both of my cars.  There are few things that give me such a since of accomplishment with such little effort.  We have all driven behind wipers that have long outlived their effectiveness.  But, because of the gradual nature of their decline, it often goes unnoticed.  Unnoticed until it is unbearable.  Then, with new wiper blades in place, a whole new world opens up behind the wheel.  While not the same safety measure, I also squidgy off my glass shower doors every morning.  It is remarkable what happens when the fog and water is removed.

“For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know only in part; then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known.” 1 Corinthians 13:12

It seems to me that a major part of our ministry should involve Windex.  Each of us, by the aide of the Holy Spirit, is given a rag and a bottle of Windex to do our best to clean the mirrors of our lives and eyes.  If you buy the fact that the 7 signs in the Gospel of John all build upon each other in importance then it is telling that the 6th sign is Jesus giving the blind man sight.  Jesus seems very concerned about opening our eyes to see.  His teachings are the Windex that clears away the streaks, the grime, and the grit from our eyes.  He gives us new eyes to see.  And we are, therefore, called to go and clean the windows with which we see the world.  We are called to help other people to see the world with God’s eyes.  As Brandon Heath sings, ‘give me your eyes for just one second.”

As the early morning frosts are upon my section of the world, I am often tempted to scrap a small portion of that frost off of my windshield so I can see as I drive.  It isn’t the safest idea.  And, by the Spirits help, I will now consider scrapping my windshield a discipline of faith.  It is a reminder of the bottle of Windex that God puts in all of our hands.  For those with eyes, let them see.

SMN@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

