Skip to content

I Will Go…

1October2012

Jesus tells his disciples (for the second time) what’s in store for him in Jerusalem. And for the second time, they don’t get it. In the conversation that follows his prediction, Jesus helps them understand just what his way of being Messiah will mean not only for him, but for them and for every generation of believers to follow. So…a humble suggestion for your daily devotions: Read Mark 9:30-50, then sing this. (I’ll bet you already know the tune.) Be sure to sing nice and loud. The neighbors will love it.

Jesus loves me; this I know for the Bible tells me so.
On the cross for us he dies, and like him we all will rise.
Yes, Jesus loves me. (3x) The Bible tells me so.

Jesus calls the lost and least; welcomes them around his feast.
When we would the greatest be he helps us the child to see.
Yes, I will follow. (3x) With Jesus I will go.

Who is in and who is out; one more thing to fret about.
But the Savior’s arms are wide, gathering all the world inside.
Yes, I will follow. (3x) With Jesus I will go.

At the mission or next door, there are folks worth caring for.
Every kindness, large or small, serving one or serving all.
Yes, I will follow. (3x) With Jesus I will go.

Not so bad, we’re quick to say; following our own stubborn way.
Still he calls to leave behind all that us to sin would bind.
Yes, I will follow. (3x) With Jesus I will go.

Though we’d blend into the crowd, not too bright and not too loud,
Jesus says to you and me we are salt and light to be.
Yes, I will follow. (3x) With Jesus I will go.

Jesus’ mission is our call: live for him and care for all.
Gone our sins, we are set free, sharing grace with all we see.
Yes, I will follow. (3x) With Jesus I will go.

DLN@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

