Skip to content

What The Wind Blew In

26October2012

On Tuesday I spent four hours working the yard, cleaning up flower beds, trimming bushes, and raking up the leaves that had begun to blanket the lawn. By 8:00 p.m., I surveyed my pristine lawn, satisfied that it was as close to perfect as it could be. When I went out to my car at 8:00 a.m. the next morning, I was appalled. Overnight, the wind and rain had conspired to undo what four hours of sweat and diligence had accomplished. Once again, the lawn was blanketed in a sea of yellow-orange color.

Image

Life is like messy like that.  For all of us. We never know what kind of adversity or disappointment might blow into our carefully ordered worlds. Some of the troubles we face in life come as the result of our sin, in the form of unintended consequences. But others, like Illness, unemployment, betrayal, and more, simply arrive with no warning. Either way, St. Paul says, God’s grace is sufficient. Sometimes, the adversity we face becomes God’s instrument for our growth and transformation. After all, he is more interested in who we are becoming on the inside than He is about outward appearances. In the light of eternity, He is more concerned about who we’re becoming on the inside than He is about our momentary circumstances, over which He does indeed have control.

Looking up at the leaves that are still on the trees, and knowing that a tropical storm is sure to bring the wind and rain again over the weekend, I’m pretty sure I will have some more four hour clean-up sessions in the near future. And that’s okay. I’m learning not to worry about that; to be thankful that I have a yard. And a house. And beautiful trees that haven’t come crashing through the roof in one of those storms. I’m learning that even in the midst of frustration and difficulty, there is much to be thankful for. I’m learning to trust in God’s all-sufficient grace, and to enjoy his presence, even in the midst of cleaning up the messes that arrive unannounced. I’m more concerned these days about soul-clutter than about external circumstances over which I have no control.

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son…”  – Romans 8:28-29a (NLT)

JAM@CCD

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 26October2012 13:47

    soul clutter. I like that term.

    And indeed, my soul is messier than my lawn (and my house…) and that is saying something!

    But He who began a good work is bringing it to completion…

    Emily
    http://www.weakandloved.com

    • 4November2012 18:33

      Amen, Emily. He will. And He does. Thanks for commenting. I like your handle “Weakandloved.” How true for all of us!

Leave a Reply

