Skip to content

Medical Prayers

14November2012

As of 7:00 this morning I’ll be under the knife for surgery.  I hope it is a really small knife as it is surgery on the insides of my nose.  If you would say a prayer for me, I’d be grateful.  I share this because of a recent conference I just attended.  It was on congregational renewal and discipleship.  And it was powerful.  In attendance were 4 Ethiopian evangelists from the Lutheran church there.  It is the largest Lutheran church body in the world today, and the fastest growing.  In the past 4 years it has grown by 2 million members!  Their 5-year plan is to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with 30 million people (and it is achievable).  It is amazing what God is doing in Ethiopia through these servants.  And it was humbling to be with them and learn from them.

There are many stories.  But, the story I share with you this day, as I may still be under that very small knife while you are reading this, is how our brothers and sisters in Ethiopia respond when there is illness and sickness.  When I broke my nose awhile back, after I got done rolling around on the floor in agony, I called my wife, got an ice pack, and waited for her to pick me up and take me to the hospital for a CAT scan.  I saw doctors.  I had follow up appointments.  I had one surgery.  And now, months later, I’m headed in for another.  As I think back on my nose, I’ve prayed a couple times about it—mostly right before the surgeries.

The Ethiopian Lutheran church, called the Mekane Yesus (it means the dwelling place of Jesus), is filled with disciples of Jesus who, when they are sick or injured, go to the church first.  These faithful followers seek Jesus first before they seek medical help.

As is often the case, I’m late to the game.  Today, I am seeking the help of Jesus as doctors work on my nose.  I’d be grateful if you would seek Jesus on my behalf.  But I’d be even more grateful if you began to be shaped and formed in a similar manner as our brothers and sisters in Africa.

SMN@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

