Skip to content

I am praising you…

10December2012

I am praising you this morning, O God, but with a clenched fist, shaken at a world full of power politics and broken promises and selfish arrogance. I am tired of car bombs and manufactured righteousness and hate speech and elitist attitudes and the quick assumptions made about other peoples’ motives that justify our demonization and dismissal and eventual murder of them.

I am praising you this morning, O God, but with a cynical attitude that has stopped expecting anything different or better. Like losing control on an icy road, I no longer see how we might avoid the crash with all its deadly consequences.

I am praising you this morning, O God, but with a broken heart…knowing all too well that the sin played out across the nations and cultures of this world flows from my own heart as well, and that I am powerless to stem the tide. As much as I might imagine otherwise, the evils I see in others are no stranger to my own soul.

I am praising you this morning, O God, because I have no place else to go. You are the last resort of a shattered creation that resists every gracious invitation and refuses to make you first. And what is true on a cosmic scale is all too true for this shattered creature as well.

You are the Lord. We do not deserve your attention or your healing or your love. Most days, we don’t even want your mercy. But we are desperate for it all. Amen. Come, Lord Jesus…

DLN@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

