Skip to content

While I’m Waiting

17January2013

While I’m Waiting (Song by John Waller from the Movie Fireproof)

Jeff and I celebrate our birthdays a week apart at the beginning of January, and as we always do, we reflect on the year past and dream about what is to come. A lot has happened over the past year, much of it to be celebrated, some of it to be mourned, all of it to be used as a lesson for growth.

It’s been a year since we lost a much loved family member in a tragic car accident, yet it seems like yesterday, as continual reminders of her life surround us as let us know of her presence still. And while I wait to be reunited with her in eternity, I give thanks for the many ways she loved my children, my husband and myself.

It’s been a semester since we sent a daughter off to college, yet it seems like yesterday, as I pass her empty bedroom with its small reminders of the child she has left behind and the hopes of the young woman she is becoming. And while I wait to see what the Lord has in store for her wonderful future, I pray for her. I pray for protection, that she be safe, I pray for wisdom, that her choices be sound, and I pray for joy in the midst of all the stress she faces each day.

It’s been a little over a year since we began the mission of Genesis. Every day has its challenges and triumphs. Starting a church from scratch is a slow and awesome task Bringing people to Jesus has its rewards and frustrations, and happens one person at a time, one relationship at a time. I am no longer serving in a call here, as the funding for my position has been cut. And while I wait to see where the Lord wants me next, I remain faithful to staying in His Word, and sharing that Word with others. I’m also back in school, taking the two classes I need to update my teaching certificate in Ohio. And I’m trusting in His plan and purpose for me. He knows…..and that’s enough.

PAM@CCD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

